Flooring Pros at Floormasters.com
SERVING WOOD FLOORING PROFESSIONALS ONLINE SINCE 1997

Hardwood Floors The Floormasters forum was hosted online from 1997–2015 by wood flooring legend Bill Price Sr. as a service to the wood flooring industry. After Bill passed away in 2015, Wood Floor Business magazine agreed to archive the content from the Floormasters forum on its website so this valuable resource of wood flooring discussions would not be lost. For active forum discussions, visit the Wood Floor Business Forum.

Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 7 posts ] 
 Post subject: Wood filler . . .
PostPosted: Thu Mar 25, 2010 9:57 pm 

I've been using Timbermate filler for a few years now. But I found that its virtue is in filling large gaps and holes with NO shrinking at all! But when I need a grain filler, it's not my favorite. (I guess they have a newer, more trowel-able version?)

But today, I needed to trowel/grain fill a mesquite floor that I installed. I need to get rid of the hairline cracks because light shows them up terribly if I don't. Anywho . . . I used Final Touch for the very first time. Quite smooth and creamy. (Biz, it spread as easily as that video on your other thread to Marco.) I covered 400 square foot room in about 20-25 minutes with 3/4 of a gallon. I spread it with a rubber trowel. A wide metal trowel perhaps would cover more footage.
Tomorrow I have another room to do, but all I have available is WoodWise. I'll be able to compare.

Which of the three do you guys like?

Charlie in Arizona

Post subject: Re: Wood filler . . .
PostPosted: Thu Mar 25, 2010 10:11 pm 

I perfer the 15.75 inch trowel http://www.woodwise.com/tools/trowels.html

PostPosted: Thu Mar 25, 2010 11:54 pm 

rarely fill anymore (mostly pine floors = no filling) but T-mate when we do. We have old stock, the thick stuff that has to be watered down. We put it down with a drywall knife.